Facebook Privacy Settings Guide For Mobile App

You may instead want to read the privacy guide if you are using Facebook on a computer web browser

In this guide we will demonstrate step-by-step how to go through all the detailed stages on making your Facebook account truly private.

 

Regardless of if you are setting up a new account or wanting to make changes to a current account, follow these steps right from the beginning.

 

If you are setting up a new account, once you have signed up for your account, and before you upload anything, let’s go into your settings and change some privacy options. It is better to upload information to your account after you make sure the information you upload is private in the first place.

Step 1

When logged into your account, select the options icon – three horizontal lines on the bottom right of your screen.

Step 3

Select “Settings & Privacy.”

Step 5

Scroll down to the “Privacy” section.

Step 7

Scroll down a bit so you can see more of the settings and not those top three blue icons.

Step 9

To change a setting, select an option, such as, “Who can see the people, Pages and lists you follow?”

Step 11

We recommend “Only Me” when selecting the people to see the pages and lists you follow.

Step 13

We recommend these settings for best privacy protection

 

  • Who can see your future posts? = Friends

  • Who can see the people, pages, and lists you follow? = Only me

  • Who can send you friend requests? = Friends of friends

  • Who can see your friends list? = Only me

  • Who can look you up using the email address you provided? = Friends

  • Who can look you up using the phone number you provided? = Friends

  • Do you want search engines outside of Facebook to link to your profile? = No

 

 

Once finished, go back to your general settings.

Step 15

These are the default privacy settings on new accounts. You may see some different settings on your account.

Step 17

The next settings category is “Ad Preferences.”

Step 19

Select “Your Information.”

Step 21

By default, all these settings are enabled, toggle them off.

Step 23

The next settings category under Ad Preferences is “Ad Settings”

Step 25

You may encounter this description when adjusting Ad settings, just select continue.

Step 27

Once turned off, return to Ad settings.

Step 29

The next settings category is “Active Status.”

Step 31

When toggling Active Status off, you will likely have a confirmation pop-up. Just confirm to turn off.

Step 33

We are now going to go over profile settings. You will need to navigate to your profile.

Step 35

Locate the “About” option and select it.

Step 37

To change your information from public to private, select the “Edit” pencil icon beside the section of information you want to change. (YES, you need to do that with every category.)

Step 39

Select the privacy level for how you want your information to be seen. Depending on the information, you should only allow your Friends or “Only you” to see the information. It is unlikely you will want to share all your personal information publicly if you wish to remain safe.

Step 41

The more information you have on your account, the more points you will need to check.

Step 43

The last part of this guide is to check for any app you have allowed access to your Facebook account. Go back into your settings and look for “Apps and Websites.”

Step 45

You may not see anything here on your account, but it’s still good to check. If you see any apps attached to your account, review what access they have to your personal information. Select “View” on each app.

Step 47

The app also allows notifications and is visible to friends. You can also alter these settings.

Step 2

In your settings, navigate to your detailed settings by scrolling to the bottom of this page.

Step 4

Select “Settings.”

Step 6

Select “Privacy Settings.”

Step 8

These are the default privacy settings on new accounts under the age of 18 at the time of this guide. Setting-up an account when you’re older than 18 may have different enabled settings. Also, those who have had an account for a long time and have never altered their settings may also have some more public settings enabled by default. Regardless of what is enabled by default for you, we are going the go through the best recommended settings to have.

Step 10

You will be brought to a new screen that defines options for you. There are more options hidden under “More.”

Step 12

Once you have changed your setting, go back to your privacy settings.

Step 14

The next settings category we are going to go over is “Timeline and Tagging.”

Step 16

We recommend these settings for best privacy protection.

 

  • Who can post on your timeline? = Only me

  • Who can see what others post on your timeline? = Only me

  • Who can see posts you’re tagged in on your timeline? = Only Me

  • When you're tagged in a post, who do you want to add to the audience of the post if they can't already see it? = Only me

  • Review tags friends add to your posts before the tags appear on Facebook? = On

  • Review posts you're tagged in before the post appears on your timeline? = On

 

Once finished, return to your general settings.

Step 18

Scroll down.

Step 20

These are the default settings for how ads can be targeted towards you. They are all on by default.

Step 22

Once the settings are turned off, go back.

Step 24

Like the previous step, these Ad settings are on by default. We recommend turning them off.

Step 26

Toggle “Allowed” off.

Step 28

Continue to restrict ad tracking as you see fit.

 

Once you’ve made your changes, return to the general settings page.

Step 30

Turning off Active Status: This prevents friends from seeing when you are currently online or when you were last online. You may not wish to disable this setting and that’s ok. The more friends you have (such as over 250) the more recommended it is to disable Active Status.

Step 32

Once completed, return to your account.

Step 34

From the top of your profile, scroll down a little bit.

Step 36

What you want to look for is what information about you is made public. 

Step 38

When changing the settings about you, select the “Sharing with” option.

Step 40

Go through all of your information on your About page and change your settings to “Friends” or “Only you.”

Step 42

These are further examples of information to check for public access.

Step 44

For the first option, “Logged in with Facebook,” select edit.

Step 46

For example, on this app, it is accessing a friends list and personal email. Toggle these to prevent this info from being accessed.

Step 48

When changing who can see you use an app you can make it private by only having it visible by you and not your friends.

Call

250-478-9119

Toll-Free

1-855-478-9119

  • YouTube - Grey Circle
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Facebook Icon

Located

2611 Rainville Rd, Victoria, BC,

V9B 3N2

© 2017 Personal Protection Systems Inc