Facebook Privacy Settings Guide For Web browser

You may instead want to read the privacy guide if you are using Facebook on the 
facebook Privacy guide Mobile.png

In this guide we will demonstrate step-by-step how to go through all the detailed stages on making your Facebook account truly private.

 

Regardless of if you are setting up a new account or wanting to make changes to a current account, follow these steps right from the beginning.

 

If you are setting up a new account, once you have signed up for your account, and before you upload anything, let’s go into your settings and change some privacy options. It is better to upload information to your account after you make sure the information you upload is private in the first place.

 

In this walkthrough, we are starting with a fresh new account. If you are looking to change the settings on an account that you have used for a long time, that’s ok! All the setting are the same.

When logged into your Facebook account, select the downward arrow on the top right of the screen for more options. A pop down menu will appear where you can then select “Settings.”

Step 1

The first settings page that opens is your “General” settings - from here, navigate to the “Privacy” settings page.

Step 2

These are the current default privacy settings on new accounts of people who are under the age of 18. Setting up an account when you are older than 18 may have different enabled settings. Also, those who have had an account for a long time and have never altered their settings may have some more public settings enabled by default. Regardless of what is enabled by default for you, we are going the go through the best recommended settings for your account.

Step 3

We recommend these settings for the best privacy protection:

 

  • Who can send you friend requests? = Friends of friends

  • Who can see your friends list? = Only me

  • Who can look you up using the email address you provided? = Friends

  • Who can look you up using the phone number you provided? = Friends

  • Do you want search engines outside of Facebook to link to your profile? = No

Step 4

The next settings category we are going to go over is “Timeline and Tagging.”

Step 5

These are the default privacy settings on new accounts. Same deal with step 3 - you may see some different settings on your account. The next step will show the best private configuration.

Step 6

We recommend these settings for best privacy protection:

 

  • Who can post on your timeline? = Only me

  • Who can see what others post on your timeline? = Only me

  • Hide comments containing certain words from your timeline = Off

  • Who can see posts you're tagged in on your timeline? = Only me

  • When you're tagged in a post, who do you want to add to the audience of the post if they can't already see it? = Only me

  • Who sees tag suggestions when photos that look like you are uploaded? (this is not yet available to you) = Only me

  • Review posts you're tagged in before the post appears on your timeline? = On

  • Review tags friends add to your posts before the tags appear on Facebook? = On

Step 7

The next settings category is “Ads.”

Step 8

Your Ads page will collect information the more Facebook is used, since this is a new account, there is not much ad details collected about this account. Regardless, there are some settings we should change to prevent usage of your private information.

Step 9

Under the “Your Information” tab. These are the default enabled settings.

Step 10

Disable all the ad access to your information.

Step 11

These are some default settings under the “Ad settings” tab.

Step 12

We recommend these settings for best privacy protection:

 

Ads based on data from partners = Not allowed

 

Ads based on your activity on Facebook Company Products that you see elsewhere = Not allowed

 

Ads that include your social actions = No one

 

You can now return to your Facebook homepage.

Step 13

Exit out of your settings and let’s start managing the direct information we upload to Facebook, starting with the “About” tab.

Step 14

Navigate to the section “Likes.”

Step 15

Under “Likes,” select the edit button and then “Edit the Privacy of Your Likes.”

Step 16

These are the default settings on what category of your likes are visible to the public. By default, all of your likes are public.

Step 17

We highly recommend hiding all your likes. Making your likes only visible to you is the most private option. The choice is yours on who you want to see your likes. At the very least, only allow friends to view.

Step 18

You may wish to instead make all your likes only visible to your friends, the choice is yours.

Step 19

Ensure you are still in your “About” section. There may be some information categories you may simply wish to remove from your account view, meaning you and others will not see those on your about page.

Step 20

By default, many of your about categories are visible on your account. Deselecting a category will remove it from view on your account. (Any information contained in the section can still be searched). Follow steps 15-19 to adjust how your “like” privacy settings is managed.

Step 21

By deselecting any category, it is no longer visible on your profile. That said, information can still be seen on your timeline or news feeds.

Step 22

When it comes to games and other apps, be wise as to what personal information they are given access to. This screenshot is about a Facebook game we are about to play.

Step 23

When starting a new game or app, take a look at the permissions they request. You can edit some of the access before you launch your app. Please review what an app is accessing before giving it access to your personal account.

Step 24

Some apps will ask for different permissions. Use your best judgment and prevent access as best you can. In this example, you can see this game is asking to read our friends list and email address.

Step 25

Here you can view what apps you have allowed access to your account. Go to your settings (step 1) and select the “Apps and Websites” option.

Step 26

From here, you can view all the active apps associated with your account. You can view and edit the level of access these apps have to your account by selecting “View and edit.”

Step 27

Here you can view what apps you have allowed access to your account. Go to your settings (step 1) and select the “Apps and Websites” option.

Step 28

Use your best judgement on what access and information you want your apps to have. We always recommend making your apps as private and secure as possible.

Step 29

You may also wish to turn off your activity status indicator. This is more of an optional part, but still important if you do not want your friends to know when you are online and when you were last online. Bring your attention to your chat box and select settings.

 

Turning off Active Status: This prevents friends from seeing when you are currently online or when you were last online. You may not wish to disable this setting and that’s ok. The more friends you have (such as over 250), the more recommended it is to disable Active Status.

Step 30

Select “Turn Off Active Status.”

Step 31

You will receive this pop-up asking the extent you want to disable Active Status. We recommend the top option, but the choice is yours.

Step 32

You will need to disable this on the Facebook mobile app (if you use it) and any other platform you use Facebook on to have it take effect.

Step 33

Call

250-478-9119

Toll-Free

1-855-478-9119

  • YouTube - Grey Circle
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Facebook Icon

Located

2611 Rainville Rd, Victoria, BC,

V9B 3N2

© 2017 Personal Protection Systems Inc